Fandom

Wiki Star Wars

Star Wars: The Arcade Game

8 096pages sur
ce wiki
Ajouter une page
Commentaire0 Partager

Interférence d'un bloqueur de publicité détectée !


Wikia est un site gratuit qui compte sur les revenus de la publicité. L'expérience des lecteurs utilisant des bloqueurs de publicité est différente

Wikia n'est pas accessible si vous avez fait d'autres modifications. Supprimez les règles personnalisées de votre bloqueur de publicité, et la page se chargera comme prévu.

C-3PO et Jabba.jpg

Je maîtrise plus de six millions de formes de communication.

Attention ! Cet article possède un nom étranger ne possédant pas d'équivalent officiel en français.

Star Wars: The Arcade Game est un jeu d'arcade produit pour l'ATARI 2600 et sorti en 1983. Le jeu est un simulateur spatial à la première personne, basé sur Star Wars épisode IV : Un Nouvel Espoir. Plus spécifiquement, l'action se situe durant la Bataille de Yavin. Le graphisme du jeu est en vecteurs 3D couleurs. Considéré comme l'un des Jeux vidéos les plus populaires de tous les temps, il eu un très grand succès en son temps, particulièrement dans le sillage de la sortie théâtrale de Star Wars Episode VI : Le retour du Jedi. Il fut par la suite produit sous le nom "Star Wars: The Arcade Game" sur l'ATARI 2600, l'ATARI 5200, l'ATARI XE, la ColecoVison et le Commodire 64.

GameplayModifier

Le joueur assume le rôle de Luke Skywalker ("Red Five"), comme pilote d'un chasseur X-Wing dans une perspective à la première personne. Contrairement à d'autres jeux d'arcade de nature semblable, le joueur n'a pas à détruire tous les ennemis afin de progresser à travers le jeu ; il doit simplement survivre à travers le niveau, ce qui signifie souvent qu'il doit éviter ou détruire les tirs ennemis.

Le but ultime du joueur est de détruire l'Étoile Noire en passant par trois phases d'attaque : Dans la première phase du jeu, le joueur commence dans l'espace au-dessus de l' Etoile de la mort. Il doit s'engager dans un combat contre Dark Vador et autres chasseurs TIE.

Dans la deuxième phase, le joueur atteint la surface de Étoile Noire ou il affronte des tourelles laser. Si le joueur parvient à détruire toutes les tours, il recevra un bonus de points.

Dans la troisième phase, le joueur vole au travers de la tranchée finale en direction de la bouche d'évacuation de gaz, faiblesse de l'Étoile Noire. Tout au long de la traversée,il doit éviter les coups de laser et les différents obstacles qui bloquent le chemin d'accès. À la fin de la tranchée, le joueur doit voler bas afin de tirer une torpille à proton dans la bouche. En cas de succès, l'Étoile Noire explose et le jeu redémarre immédiatement à un niveau de difficulté supérieur. En cas d'échec, le joueur doit recommencer la troisième phase au début.

A chaque Étoile Noire détruite, la difficulté du jeu augmente; Les chasseurs TIE tirent plus souvent, il y a plus de tours laser et de batteries au second tour et il y a beaucoup plus d'obstacles et de tirs de laser au cours de la tranchée. À la différence du film, où les unités tirent au canon laser, les unités ennemies dans ce jeu tirent des projectiles ressemblant à des boules de feu, afin de donner au joueur une chance pour détruire les coups de feu adverses.

Détails sur le jeuModifier

Le jeu présente plusieurs voix numérisées issues du film, dont celles de Mark Hamill pour Luke Skywalker, Sir Alec Guinness pour Obi-Wan Kenobi, James Earl Jones pour Dark Vador, Harrison Ford pour Han Solo, ainsi que les bips de R2-D2. Le jeu fut le premier à présenter des voix numérisées, souvent considérées comme le premier facteur de son succès.

Le jeu est disponible en version standart ou en version classique richement décorée. Les contrôles sont constitués d'un joug (semblable à un volant) avec plusieurs boutons, chacun permettant de tirer un laser.

NotesModifier

  • Le jeu a été développé durant l' "Age d'or des jeux d'arcades", et est considéré comme le quatrième jeu le plus populaire de tous les temps, selon la 'Killer List of Videogames';
  • Le jeu peut être converti dans le jeu d'arcade "The Empire Strikes Back (arcade game)".

PortabilitéModifier

Le jeu fût porté pour les ordinateurs domestique en Europe par Domark en 1987. La même année Broderbund acquière les droits pour développer des jeux Star Wars auprès de Lucasfilm. Broderbund publia les versions Apple II et Commodore 64 du jeu d'arcade en Amérique du Nord en 1988. La version Commodore 64 fût programée par Daniel James Gallagher et les voix échantillonnées par Andy Beverage. Deux versions ont été réalisées pour l'ATARI 5200 par Parker Brothers : "Star Wars Arcade" et "Death Star Battle". Cette dernière est presque une convertion exact de la version ATARI 2600, dans le jeu Star Wars: Rogue Squadron III: Rebel Strike, les trois jeux d'arcade le la trilogie classique sont déblocables (nécessitant toutefois un cheat pour les débloquer).

Informations complémentairesModifier

Ce jeu a été programmé pour l'ATARI 2600 par Bob Smith, qui a participé à de nombreux autre jeux pour ATARI.

Dans les films Gremlins et No Small Affair (tous deux sortis en 1984), deux versions du jeu apparaissent. La séquence de la tranchée est vue dans Gremlins, lorsqu'il joue au jeu, et dans le film No Small Affair, c'est la version standard qui est aperçue.


Les joueurs faisant attention peuvent remarquer qu'après la vague de chasseurs TIE]], alors qu'ils survole Étoile Noire, la grille jaune laisse apparaître "MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU" sur les ondes impaires.

Lorsqu'on vole dans la tranchée en direction de la bouche d'aération, "USE THE FORCE" apparait en vert au moment du tir. Si vous esquivez les boules de feu, ne tirez pas une seule fois sauf pour lancer les torpilles, vous obtenez un bonus "USE THE FORCE". C'est suggéré par Obi-Wan lui-même au début de la séquence de la tranchée.

Sur le réseau Fandom

Wiki au hasard

Wikia

Wookieepedia

Star Wars: The Arcade Game

Talk2
113,487pages on
this wiki
StarWarsArcade box
Star Wars
Publication information
Developer(s)

Atari

Publisher(s)

Atari

Release date

July 1983

Genre

Retro/Simulation

Modes

Single player

Platform(s)

Arcade game, Atari 2600, Atari 5200, Atari XE, ColecoVision, Commodore 64,

Star Wars is an arcade game produced by Atari and released in 1983. The game is a first person space simulator, based around Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope. More specifically the game's action covers the Battle of Yavin. The game is composed of 3D color vector graphics. Considered one of the most popular video games of all time, it was greatly successful in its day, particularly in the wake of the theatrical release of Return of the Jedi. It was later produced as Star Wars: The Arcade Game on the Atari 2600, the Atari 5200, the Atari XE, the ColecoVision, the Commodore 64. In 1991, an updated version of the game was released for the NEC PC 98-01 and the Sharp X68000 systems under the title Star Wars: Attack on the Death Star. This version featured a long introductory cutscene at the beginning of the game.

Opening CrawlEdit

Star Wars
OBI-WAN KENOBI IS GONE BUT HIS
PRESENCE IS FELT WITHIN THE FORCE.
THE EMPIRE'S DEATH STAR, UNDER THE
COMMAND OF DARTH VADER, NEARS THE
REBEL PLANET. YOU MUST JOIN THE
REBELLION TO STOP THE EMPIRE.
THE FORCE WILL BE WITH YOU
ALWAYS

GameplayEdit

The player assumes the role of Luke Skywalker ("Red Five"), as he pilots an X-Wing fighter from a first-person perspective. Unlike other arcade games of similar nature, the player does not have to destroy every enemy in order to advance through the game; he must simply survive as his fighter flies through the level, which most often means he must avoid or destroy the shots that enemies fire.

The player's ultimate goal is to destroy the Death Star through three attack phases.

  • In the first phase of the game, the player begins in the airspace above the Death Star. He must engage in a dog fight with Darth Vader and enemy TIE Fighters.
  • In the second phase, the player reaches the Death Star's surface as laser turrets on towers rise to confront the player. If the player manages to destroy all of the towers, he will receive a sizable point bonus.
  • In the third phase, the player flies through the final trench towards the thermal exhaust port, the Death Star's weakness. Along the way he must avoid laser shots and various catwalks that block the path. At the end of the trench, the player must fly low in order to fire a proton torpedo into the port. If successful, the Death Star explodes and the game immediately restarts at a higher difficulty level. If unsuccessful, the player must restart the third phase from the beginning.

Each successive Death Star run greatly increases the difficulty; TIE Fighters shoot more often, there are more Laser towers and batteries in the second round, and there are many more obstacles and laser fire during the trench run. Unlike the movie, where the units shoot laser cannons, the enemy units in this game shoot projectiles resembling fireballs, in order to give the player a chance to destroy the shots fired at him.

Arcade detailsEdit

The game featured several digitized samples of voices from the movie, including Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker, Alec Guinness as Obi-Wan Kenobi, James Earl Jones as Darth Vader, Harrison Ford as Han Solo, and the mechanized beeps of R2-D2. The game was the first to feature digitized voice capabilities, often considered a prime factor of the game's success.

The game is available as a standard upright or an elaborately decorated sit-down version. The controls consist of a yoke control (similar to a steering wheel) with several buttons, all which fired the fighter's laser.

NotesEdit

PortsEdit

The game was published for home computers in Europe by Domark in 1987. That same year Broderbund acquired the rights to develop Star Wars games from Lucasfilm. Broderbund published the Apple II and Commodore 64 versions of the arcade game in North America in 1988. The Commodore 64 version was programmed by Daniel James Gallagher and featured voice sampling by Andy Beverage. Two versions were released for the Atari 5200 by Parker Brothers; Star Wars Arcade and Death Star Battle. The latter is almost an exact conversion of the Atari 2600 version, in Star Wars: Rogue Squadron III: Rebel Strike all 3 classic trilogy arcade games are unlockable (although ROTJ requires a cheat to unlock). The appearance of the arcade system in Rebel Strike indicated that the version used was the upright version of the arcade cabinet, and not the sit down model.

Behind the scenesEdit

The game was programmed for the Atari 2600 by Bob Smith, who was involved in programming many other games for Atari.

In the films Gremlins and No Small Affair (both released 1984), both cabinets were depicted. The trench sequence was seen in Gremlins when the Gremlins play the game and in the film No Small Affair, an upright cabinet is used.

Players with attention to detail may notice that after the TIE Fighter waves, when you are flying towards the Death Star, the yellow grid lines on the Death Star spell out either "MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU" on odd-numbered waves. Assorted peoples' names are spelled out on even numbered waves.

When flying in the trench towards the vulnerable exhaust port, "USE THE FORCE" is spelled in green until you fire a shot. If you dodge the fireballs, do not fire any shots and use one shot to fire your torpedoes in to the exhaust port, you get a sizable "USE THE FORCE" bonus. This is encouraged by Obi Wan himself at the beginning of the trench sequence.

Hqdefault

Rebel Strike director Julian Eggebrecht with the Star Wars cockpit arcade model, in The Making of Star Wars: Rogue Squadron III: Rebel Strike.

Portions of the game, most notably the Meridian trench being loaded with obstacles instead of barren as in the original film, were later reused for the Battle of Yavin mission in the 2001 game Star Wars: Rogue Squadron II: Rogue Leader, as well as its co-op port in Star Wars: Rogue Squadron III: Rebel Strike, the latter game also included the arcade game as an unlockable bonus. According to the making of documentary for Rebel Strike, the arcade game acted as the inspiration of the Rogue Squadron series.

Joe Booth is credited as one of the game's programmers while John Cassells was the one responsible for the graphics.

AppearancesEdit

By type 
Characters Creatures Droid models Events Locations
Organizations and titles Sentient species Vehicles and vessels Weapons and technology Miscellanea

Characters

Events

Organizations and titles

Vehicles and vessels

Weapons and technology


External linksEdit

In other languages

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki