Wikia

Wookieepedia

Wookieepedia:Inq/Meeting 51

Talk0
112,965pages on
this wiki

< Wookieepedia:Inq


Mtsorrow
Everything old is new again!
Inquisitorius Meeting Times
Americas
UTC−12 07:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−11 08:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−10 (Hawaii) 09:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−9 10:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−8 (AKDT) 11:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−7 (PDT) 12:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−6 (MDT) 13:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−5 (CDT) 14:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−4 (EDT) 15:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−3 (ADT) 16:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC−2 17:00 Sunday, August 5
Europe and Africa
UTC−1 18:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC/GMT 19:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC+1 (BST) 20:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC+2 (CEDT) 21:00 Sunday, August 5
Asia and Australasia
UTC+3 (EEDT) 22:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC+4 23:00 Sunday, August 5
UTC+5 00:00 Monday, August 6
UTC+6 01:00 Monday, August 6
UTC+7 02:00 Monday, August 6
UTC+8 (AWST) 03:00 Monday, August 6
UTC+9 (KST) 04:00 Monday, August 6
UTC+10 (AEST) 05:00 Monday, August 6
UTC+11 06:00 Monday, August 6
UTC+12 (NZST) 07:00 Monday, August 6

And so, here we are, the long anticipated Meeting 51. Thanks to the wonderful Essential Guide to Warfare, a metric assload of articles were probed (yes, that's a technical term) and this meeting is going to be a lot of fun. It has been scheduled for a lazy Sunday afternoon for the US folks, and a much earlier time than usual for the UK and Europe folks, at 19:00 UTC on August 5.

Since we've rounded the big 5-0, and the Droids & Ewoks omnibus has given us a fresh look at the classics, I've brought back our old friend Mount Sorrow in glorious high-definition to remind us all to do our duty in tormenting writers for the greater good. I expect to see everyone at the meeting, or at least leaving notes. -- Darth Culator (Talk) 20:14, July 30, 2012 (UTC)


This is where all our work is doneEdit

Phase one: collect underpantsEdit

Phase two: ?Edit

Phase three: Profit!Edit

Add discussion items as needed.

  • I finally created Forum:CT:Reduxing Featured articles, per our discussion at Meeting 49. Sorry for the delay. Take a look. Menkooroo (talk) 18:35, July 27, 2012 (UTC)
  • If anyone's wondering why I added Form IV: Ataru to the FA queue --- it passed an FA review a few months ago but wasn't added to the queue despite being an RFAN reject. Rectified now. Menkooroo (talk) 03:48, July 31, 2012 (UTC)
  • This isn't an attempt to single any one Inquisitor out, because a lot of people do it --- I notice a lot of INQs leaving the {{Inqapproved|~~~~~}} tag on completed FANs and then just leaving them be. Please, everyone, take the five minutes to archive a FAN if you place {{Inqapproved|~~~~~}} on it. The "leave it for someone else to do" attitude is what killed the redux page. Menkooroo (talk) 01:28, August 5, 2012 (UTC)

AttendanceEdit

SchedulingEdit

I've been holding off scheduling this one because I can't do Saturdays anymore and I don't want to schedule a meeting I know I can't attend, but I can't realistically put it off much longer. Also I've wanted to wait until various people were back from various vacations. Can anyone do a Sunday meeting? Does anyone have any other suggestions? Could someone volunteer to call in a bomb threat to my workplace so I can attend? Thoughts? -- Darth Culator (Talk) 03:13, July 17, 2012 (UTC)

  • I'd be fine with Sunday meetings. If we did them early enough in the afternoon (EST), those in Europe wouldn't have to stay up late. Are there any Aussie/Kiwi INQs left? If so, would any North Americans have issues with something like 11 AM EST Sunday? I'll be back to Korea in a month so I'll basically be in an Aussie/Kiwi time zone, but I'm good for whatever. Let's figure out the most utilitarian time. Menkooroo (talk) 03:20, July 17, 2012 (UTC)
    • I, personally, can't be here Sundays. I can usually do anything on Fridays or Saturdays. Weekdays I could probably fit in, but it's not the funnest thing to go to an Inqmoot in the middle of the week.—Cal JediInfinite Empire (Personal Comm Channel) 00:38, July 18, 2012 (UTC)
  • I can call in that bomb threat. IFYLOFD (Floyd's crib) 00:43, July 18, 2012 (UTC)
    • Weekdays are not realistic for anyone. If it needs to be on Sunday, then let's schedule it on Sunday and see how many people can attend—we can always reschedule it if necessary. We really need an Inqmoot, though, in the very near future. CC7567 (talk) 02:37, July 18, 2012 (UTC)
    • If meetings shift to Sundays, then for me they will have to be scheduled much earlier in the day (such as late afternoon/ early evening GMT, not sure how that translates). I personally cannot take part in any meetings starting later that say, 8 o'clock GMT on a Sunday, since I have to give consideration to the fact that I work (begrudgingly, I might add) during the week. - Cavalier OneFarStar(Squadron channel) 11:43, July 24, 2012 (UTC)
      • 8 PM UK time on a Sunday is doable for me. 1358 (Talk) 21:17, July 27, 2012 (UTC)
      • Also me. Menkooroo (talk) 23:13, July 27, 2012 (UTC)
  • How about next Sunday (August 5) at 7pm GMT? We should decide this soon. Menkooroo (talk) 17:36, July 29, 2012 (UTC)


The meeting will be at 19:00 UTC on August 5. This is 3 PM Sunday on the US East Coast, 8 PM in London.

CULATOR HAS SPOKEN. -- Darth Culator (Talk) 20:14, July 30, 2012 (UTC)

RSVPEdit

I am awesomeEdit

  1. Darth Culator (Talk) 20:14, July 30, 2012 (UTC)
    I only dislike freedom and puppies. Wouldn't call it hatred. Menkooroo (talk) 20:51, July 30, 2012 (UTC)
    I'm pretty sure. IFYLOFD (Floyd's crib) 04:07, July 31, 2012 (UTC)

I hate freedom and puppiesEdit

  1. Due to the time, I won't be able to attend. I'll leave notes and other such gibberish.—Cal JediInfinite Empire (Personal Comm Channel) 20:18, July 30, 2012 (UTC)
  2. Sunday is my mom's birthday, so I'm guessing I won't be able to be here. But I may just show up. I'll do my best to leave notes. Toprawa and Ralltiir (talk) 20:57, July 30, 2012 (UTC)
  3. I have an hour-long obligation then, but if it's still going when I get back, I'll be there. Notes will be left. CC7567 (talk) 02:25, July 31, 2012 (UTC)
  4. Currently on holiday in Australia. --Eyrezer (talk) 08:02, August 1, 2012 (UTC)
  5. Something came up. Need to babysit my cousin's kids. I've left notes. Menkooroo (talk) 01:28, August 5, 2012 (UTC)
  6. Can't make 3 PM. If it was the normal time... IFYLOFD (Floyd's crib) 01:36, August 5, 2012 (UTC)

At least send a card or something.Edit

ToprawaEdit
  • Keep: Eyes (Rebel operative), Beru Whitesun Lars, Rufaan Tigellinus, R3-S6, Luuke Skywalker, Sander Delvardus, Blitzer Haarsk, Ishin-Il-Raz, Danetta Pitta, Afsheen Makati, Peccati Syn, Miltin Takel, Jungle Felucian
  • Kill: Sabe, Battle of Kashyyyk (Second Galactic Civil War), Hoth (Jedi Lord), Shu Mai, Tera Sinube, Mandalore the Indomitable, Arden Lyn, 181st Imperial Fighter Wing, Ysanne Isard, Jesmin Ackbar, Tycho Celchu, Laddinare Torbin, Seha Dorvald
  • Extend probation: Bevel Lemelisk and Conan Antonio Motti - The user who attempted to update these two articles did a rather poor copy-and-paste job to try and pass muster. That's not how we do things here in the Inq. Our focus is on quality, not quantity. Large paragraphs of text should never be identical across two articles, much less two Featured articles. And the new updates aren't even formatted properly. A copy-edit at the very least would be needed. Re-extend the probes on these two to make sure this update is done the right way. Jaina Solo - a new update tag has been added since the original probation. Adar Tallon - the article was updated properly for the original probe, but nothing was done to the intro, which I feel looks a bit lacking in relation to the rest of the page now. I'd like to see the intro beefed up. Cody Sunn-Childe - the article was updated properly for the original probe, but a certain user has been going through some articles attempting to create new articles for unnamed, unidentified species, like "Cody Sunn-Childe's species." Such a redlink can be found within the body of the article, but nowhere else (such as in the infobox, for one). If this article is going to be expanded with this unidentified species information, it needs to be done so properly and exhaustively. I'm not opposed to just removing this outright and thus giving this article a full Keep. Toprawa and Ralltiir (talk) 19:39, August 4, 2012 (UTC)
Return of the JediEdit
  • Keep: Eyes (Rebel operative), Beru Whitesun Lars, Tyr Taskeen, Rufaan Tigellinus, R3-S6, Luuke Skywalker, Swokes Swokes, Reaper (Executor-class), Etahn A'baht, Teren Rogriss, Blitzer Harrsk, Tenk Lenso, Tarrin Datch, Ishin-Il-Raz, Danetta Pitta, Afsheen Makati, Peccati Syn, Miltin Takel, Walex Blissex, Jungle Felucian
  • Kill: Sabe, Battle of Kashyyyk (Second Galactic Civil War), Shu Mai, Tera Sinube, Mandalore the Indomitable, Arden Lyn, 181st Imperial Fighter Wing, Ysanne Isard, Jesmin Ackbar, Tycho Celchu, Laddinare Torbin, Seha Dorvald
  • Extended probation: Jace Malcolm - I currently count five redlinks, which is over the limit. If someone gets these, then Keep. Hoth (Jedi Lord) - The update may have been done, but I still see multiple errors. I'm being merciful and assuming good faith that someone will fix these by next meeting, where I'll vote to kill if they're not gone. Bevel Lemelisk and Conan Antonio Motti - Per Tope. Jaina Solo - Fighting a losing battle. Adar Tallon - Per Tope. The intro almost looks like the size of a GAN intro. Fairwind - Same problem with Adar Tallon. Cody Sunn-Childe - I'd prefer to just see this redlink removed. However, I'll vote to probe on grounds that it should be checked into further to verify.—Cal JediInfinite Empire (Personal Comm Channel) 21:00, August 4, 2012 (UTC)
MenkoorooEdit
FloydEdit
CCEdit
  • My notes are organized in the table below. Jace Malcom should be extended because one of the references requires {{Cite web}}. Hoth (Jedi Lord) should be extended for various grammar issues including references before punctuation, dash cleanup, and unnecessary bolding, to name a few. For R3-S6, I disagree with the comment that the height discrepancy should be considered rounding—it's a simple error, and should be treated as such; therefore, {{Twoconflicting}} is unnecessary. CC7567 (talk) 04:31, August 5, 2012 (UTC)
    • Jace Malcom has been Cite web'd. Menkooroo (talk) 04:38, August 5, 2012 (UTC)
      • The succession box is also very poorly formatted; {{Ref}} is required, as is a source for the title. CC7567 (talk) 04:39, August 5, 2012 (UTC)
        • Done. Also added "eventually" to Hoth. Menkooroo (talk) 04:44, August 5, 2012 (UTC)
  • IMPORTANT NOTE: Tyr Taskeen, Jesmin Ackbar, and Soontir Fel are all failed RFANs. Per meeting 42, they should have been removed from the RFAN page as soon as they were probed, but I just removed them from the RFAN page now. Better late than never. Also per meeting 42, any article that's removed from RFAN, probed, and ultimately keeps its status should be added to the FA queue. In this case, it looks like that'll be Tyr Taskeen and Soontir Fel. Menkooroo (talk) 06:48, August 5, 2012 (UTC)
ArticleToprawaCal JediMenkoorooFloydCC
Jace MalcomExtendKeepKeepKeep
SabéKillKillKillKillKill
Battle of Kashyyyk (Second Galactic Civil War)KillKillKillKillKill
Eyes (Rebel operative)KeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Beru Whitesun LarsKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Tyr TaskeenKeepKeepKeepKeep
Hoth (Jedi Lord)KillExtendKeepExtendExtend
Soontir FelKeepKeepKeep
Rufaan TigellinusKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Bevel LemeliskExtendExtendExtendExtendExtend
Conan Antonio MottiExtendExtendExtendExtendExtend
Shu MaiKillKillKillKillKill
Jaina SoloExtendExtendExtendExtendExtend
R3-S6KeepKeepExtendExtendKeep
Tera SinubeKillKillKeepKillKeep
Luuke SkywalkerKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Swokes SwokesKeepKeepKeepKeep
Mandalore the IndomitableKillKillKillKillKill
Reaper (Executor-class)KeepKeepKeepKeep
Arden LynKillKillKillKillKill
Etahn A'bahtKeepKeepKeepKeep
181st Imperial Fighter WingKillKillKillKillKill
Teren RogrissKeepKeepKeepKeep
Ysanne IsardKillKillKillKillKill
Jesmin AckbarKillKillKillKillKill
Sander DelvardusKeepKeepKeepKeep
Blitzer HarrskKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Tenk LensoKeepExtendExtendExtend
Tarrin DatchKeepKeepKeepKeep
Tycho CelchuKillKillKillKillKill
Ishin-Il-RazKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Danetta PittaKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Afsheen MakatiKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Peccati SynKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Miltin TakelKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Walex BlissexKeepKeepKeepKeep
Adar TallonExtendExtendKeepKeepExtend
FairwindExtendKeepKeepExtend
Laddinare TorbinKillKillKillKillKill
Seha DorvaldKillKillKillKillKill
Jungle FelucianKeepKeepKeepKeepKeep
Cody Sunn-ChildeExtendExtendExtendExtendExtend

MinutesEdit

Attendance

Old articlesEdit

Kept

Extended

Killed

New articlesEdit

  • None. Next meeting we just have the articles that got extended.

DiscussionEdit

  • Menk did his thing with the Redux, but that's in the hands of the community now. Presumably we'll have to worry about it next time.
  • We still need to figure out who does the paperwork and scheduling. Screw it, Menk volunteered. We'll work out a proper system with a public roster that we don't have to go digging through logs for soon. -- Darth Culator (Talk) 22:01, August 6, 2012 (UTC)
    • We do, indeed. Since we already formally agreed to adopt an official roster list for individual meeting duties (one that currently exists lost in some old meeting log somewhere), I've taken the liberty of simply creating a new list with a randomizing program, along with a new bylaws page, mirroring the one we use for the AC, which can now be found here. If we need to officially ratify this or whatever next meeting, that's fine. Toprawa and Ralltiir (talk) 02:45, August 7, 2012 (UTC)
      • Culator and I have traded our scheduling duties, if that's OK. I'll swap our names on the bylaw page. Menkooroo (talk) 03:30, August 7, 2012 (UTC)

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki